Promoting the rights of people with disability, who require a companion, to fair ticketing at events and venues

Search Suburb or Postcode

Service type (eg. theatre)

Friday, 13 June 2014 00:18

Australian Football League

Australian Football was founded as a way of keep cricketers fit during off-season. The first match was played between Scotch College and Melbourne Grammar in 1858. The league currently consists of 18 teams spread over five states of Australia, although the majority (ten teams) are still based in Victoria. The most recently admitted teams to the competition are the Gold Coast and the Greater Western Sydney Football Clubs, which respectively began play in 2011 and 2012. The AFL season currently consists of a pre-season competition (currently branded as the "NAB Cup"), followed by a 23-round regular (or "home-and-away") season, which runs during the Australian winter (March to September). The top eight teams then play off in a finals series culminating in the AFL Grand Final, which is held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground each year. The winning team in the Grand Final is termed the "premiers", and is awarded the premiership cup.

Additional Information

  • Type/Category: Sports
  • Website: http://www.afl.com.au/
  • Street Address: GPO Box 1449N
  • Suburb: Melbourne
  • State: VIC
  • Postcode: 3001
  • Phone Number: 02 9643 1999

Australian Football League

GPO Box 1449N
Melbourne, VIC.
Australia ,3001